New Island Books - 25 Years a-Growing

The Glass Shore won Best Irish Published Book of the Year 2016!



New Island is thrilled to announce that The Glass Shore: Short Stories by Women Writers from the North of Ireland, edited by Sinéad Gleeson, has won The Best Irish Published Book of the Year 2016 at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards!

The Glass Shore

This is the second year in a row that New Island and Sinéad Gleeson have won this award – last year for The Long Gaze Back: An Anthology of Irish Women WritersFifty-five female writers have been published between the two anthologies and we are delighted that they have received well-deserved, and often long-awaited, recognition and acclaim. Both anthologies include deceased luminaries and forerunners, many of whom have been out of print for decades. These sit alongside established and emerging contemporary voices to represent a continuum of female writers from the last 300 years.

Congratulations to Sinéad Gleeson and all the marvellous contributors to The Glass Shore: Rosa Mulholland, Erminda Rentoul Esler, Sarah Grand, Alice Milligan, Eithne Carbery, Margaret Barrington, Janet McNeill, Mary Beckett, Caroline Blackwood, Polly Devlin, Frances Molloy, Una Woods, Sheila Llewellyn, Linda Anderson, Anne Devlin, Evelyn Conlon, Mary O’Donnell, Annemarie Neary, Martina Devlin, Rosemary Jenkinson, Bernie McGill, Tara West, Jan Carson, Lucy Caldwell and Roisín O’Donnell! 

Edwin Higel, Sinéad Gleeson and Dan Bolger

Above: Publisher Edwin Higel, Editor Sinéad Gleeson and Commissioning Editor Dan Bolger

The BGEIBA award two years running is a tangible endorsement of New Island’s ongoing commitment to serve as a platform for and a champion of Irish female voices. Throughout its near 25 year history, New Island has been a staunch advocate of women writers, publishing critically acclaimed books, both fiction and non-fiction, from Nuala O’Faolain’s Are You Somebody? and Sarah Maria Griffin’s Not Lost to Christine Dwyer Hickey’s Tatty and Mia Gallagher’s Beautiful Pictures of the Lost Homeland. In fact, the concept for The Long Gaze Back arose out of a conversation with Sinéad Gleeson about Cutting the Night in Two: Short Stories by Irish Women Writers, edited by Evelyn Conlon and Hans-Christian Oeser, which New Island published in 2001.

 2017, which marks New Island’s twenty-fifth birthday, will see the publication of more exciting new female voices, including a startling novel by newcomer Lisa Harding and highly-anticipated debut collection by June Caldwell.

You can view the full list of award-winners here!


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>