New Island Books - 25 Years a-Growing

Walter Macken

Showing the single product

Walter Macken was born on May 3rd, 1915, in Galway.

Originally an actor, principally with the Tadhbhearc in Galway, and The Abbey Theatre, he played lead roles on Broadway in MJ Molloy’s The King of Friday’s Men and his own play Home is the Hero. He also acted in films, notably in Brendan Behan’s The Quare Fellow. With the success of his third book, Rain on the Wind, he devoted his time to writing.’ His plays include Mungo’s Mansion (1946) and Home is the Hero (1952).

His novels include Rain on the Wind, the trilogy Seek the Fair Land), The Silent People and The Scorching Wind, New Island republished his novel The Bogman(originally published in 1952), in 2011 as part of our Modern Irish Classics series.

He also published a number of books for children, including Island of the Great Yellow Ox and Flight of the Doves, which was adapted for the cinema.

He died in Galway on April 22, 1967.