New Island Books - 25 Years a-Growing

About Us

New Island Books


New Island Books started out as Raven Arts Press under Dermot Bolger’s stewardship in the 1980s. Today, under publisher Edwin Higel, New Island retains its commitment to exceptional literature and groundbreaking non-fiction. Over the years we have been responsible for discovering and publishing many new authors, as well as revitalising the careers of established authors and is the publishing home of some of the finest literary figures of recent decades. New Island publishes mainly literary fiction, poetry & drama, crime fiction and Irish interest non-fiction especially biography, memoir and history.

Among the writers we have published are Nuala O’Faolain, whose memoir Are You Somebody? was first published by New Island before becoming an international bestseller, Dermot Bolger, Tom Mac Intyre, Mary Lavin, Christine Dwyer Hickey, Joseph O’Connor, Mary Kenny, Stephen Price, Anthony Cronin, Ferdia MacAnna, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Paul Durcan, Philip Casey, Maeve Brennan, Carlo Gébler, Nuala Ní Chonchúir, Deirdre Purcell, Myles Dungan, Glenn Patterson, Brian Lynch, Mark Little and the 2013 winner of the Short Story Prize at the Irish Book Awards, Billy O’Callaghan.

‘New Island have once again picked up true potential by the ankles.’ – Irish Independent

New Island Books aims to find the very best new writers. Our début novelists in the last few years include Theo Dorgan, Conor Brady, A.W. Timmons, Diarmuid Ó Conghaile and Brendan John Sweeney. We have also published debuts by the poets Deirdre Hines and Donna Sørensen. In 2014/2015 New Island books launched a new series, Fiction Firsts, featuring exceptional début novels by Gerard Lee (Forsaken), Máire T. Robinson (Skin, Paper, Stone) and Doreen Finn (My Buried Life).

The Open Door Series, founded in association with Patricia Scanlan, has published adult literacy novellas by authors including Maeve Binchy, John Boyne, Roddy Doyle, Nick Hornby, Cathy Kelly, Vincent Banville and Cecelia Ahern.

New Island Books launched its Modern Irish Classics series in 2010, which aims to put twentieth-century Irish classics back on the shelves. All have been carefully selected on the merit of their literary merit, and lasting importance in the Irish literary canon. The series has included luminaries such as Dermot Bolger, Anthony Cronin, Benedict Kiely, Mary Lavin and Walter Macken.

New Island receives funding from The Irish Arts Council.